The 2015 League of Legends world championships has come to a close. SK Telecom T1 were crowned the winners, becoming the first ever team to win the Summoner’s Cup twice.

The group stages took place in Paris, France at the Le Dock Pullman on October 1 to 4 and October 8 to 11. The tournament opened featuring Fnatic against Invictus Gaming, resulting in a rare forfeit at the 20-minute mark. All of the North American teams such as Cloud 9 and Team SoloMid were wiped out in the group stages. The Flash Wolves, KOO Tigers, Fnatic, AHQ, SK Telecom T1, Edward Gaming, KT Rolster, and Origen advanced into the quarter-finals, with SK Telecom T1 coming out undefeated.

The Quarter-Finals took place in London, England at the SSE Arena Wembley on October 15 to 18. The KOO Tigers and Origen advanced into the Semi-Finals with one loss each, while Fnatic and SK Telecom T1 moved on without taking any losses. SK Telecom T1’s undefeated streak continued into the Semi-Finals with a six-kill lead in the third game against AHQ, while Fnatic won with a five-kill advantage in the third game over Edward Gaming. The KOO Tigers went against fellow Korean team, KT Rolster, and won with a three-kill lead in the fourth game. Origen won with a nine-kill lead over the Flash Wolves in the fourth game.

The Semi-Finals took place in Brussels, Belgium at the Brussels Expo on October 24 and 25. KOO Tigers’ huge upset over Fnatic proved to be a surprise, and were immediately viewed as the underdogs to finally end SK Telecom T1’s undefeated streak and win the Summoner’s Cup. The Tigers advanced with two Fnatic-dominated rounds where they turned the tables around in the latter half of the games, and one decisive victory in the final game, winning with a 17- kill lead. SK Telecom T1’s streak continued with a 12-kill lead over Origen in the third game. Both SK Telecom T1 and KOO Tigers advanced into the Finals, making it the first time two Korean teams go against each other in the Finals.

The Finals took place in Berlin, Germany at the Mercedes-Benz Arena on October 31. SK Telecom T1 conquered over the KOO Tigers. The Tigers pulled a major upset over SK Telecom T1 in the third game, ending their undefeated streak with a 12-kill lead. SK Telecom T1 came out strong in the final game, dominating with a 12-kill lead as well, winning the championship.

Photo courtesy from